Home » News


Established in 2011 and named after one of the founders of the Undergraduate College, the Cale McDowell Award for Innovation in Undergraduate Studies honors the extraordinary efforts of The University of Texas at Austin faculty, staff, and students to improve UT’s core curriculum via programming, research, policy change, or delivery of academic services. This year, the recipient is Dr. Edmund T.
Graduation is a time of year that leaves many Longhorns with questions about their future. But the next steps are clear for Baneen Al Qaraghuli. This international relations and global studies major, who also earned a minor in social work during her time on the Forty Acres, is a proud recipient of a James C. Gaither Junior Fellowship.
Luisa Mao, a computer science and mathematics dual major pursuing a minor in robotics, is one of the 438 recipients of a 2024 Goldwater Scholarship. The University of Texas at Austin sophomore joins a long line of Longhorns who have received this scholarship, one of the oldest and most prestigious awards for undergraduates studying the natural sciences, engineering and mathematics in the United States. 
There’s no need to wait by the mailbox if you’re a member of the Class of 2024. For the first time ever, The University of Texas at Austin’s Office of the Registrar is offering Longhorns a Certified Electronic Diploma (CeDiploma), as well as a traditional paper diploma, when they graduate. CeDiplomas, which are a product of the University’s partnership with Paradigm, are official, highly secure PDFs that are identical to paper diplomas.
Have you ever dreamt of getting lost in the vibrant streets of Istanbul? Undergraduate College’s Signature Course, UGS 303: Snapshots of Contested Istanbul, lets you do just that, virtually! This unique course offers first-year students the chance to delve into the heart of this ancient city, exploring its historical landmarks, artistic traditions, and the issues shaping it today.
The Vick Advising Excellence Center and the Academic Counselors Association (ACA) hosted the 34th annual Professional Development Day conference at Rowling Hall on February 16, 2024.
On March 4, 2024, the Office of Undergraduate Research announced the winners of the ninth annual Texas Student Research Showdown at an award ceremony.  
2024 is bringing exciting changes to the Patients, Practitioners & Cultures of Care (PPCC) certificate program. A $2 million endowment from Ian Bratcher and his family will expand this certificate program and rename it in honor of Ian’s father, Joe W. Bratcher III.
The Bridging Disciplines Programs (BDPs) have never rested on their laurels. Since their foundation in 2002, these Undergraduate College programs have offered a steadily increasing number of certificates that allow Longhorns to pursue interdisciplinary learning on a wide range of topics beyond their majors. This spring, the BDPs add a 17th program to their roster: the Criminal Law, Justice & Inequality certificate.
Undergraduate College recently honored outstanding educators with its prestigious Signature Course Awards. These awards, which include the Iverson Award for Innovation, Holleran Steiker Award for Creative Student Engagement, and the Signature Course Outstanding Campus Partner for Academic Enrichment, are presented annually to recognize innovative and empathetic teaching methods that have significantly impacted students’ learning experiences.